Week Six Summary- Media Convergence

Right now as I am writing this blog post, it has been the second day that the internet has been down in my house because of a problem with the modem router. Thank god (or Jobs?) for 3G on my iPhone and iPad.

But as much as I love Jenkins’ idea of convergence, and how convergence has impacted the way we interact and live, with no access to the internet via my laptop for two days, convergence isn’t really my best friend at the moment.

Access to my university assignments, homework and readings, social networks, television shows and news source is all converged onto this device- with a major reliance on the internet. The internet is down, and I am having to rely on different sources to access what I would usually access easily on my mac book on a daily basis. It is as if my laptop is a dead medium. Except for accessing saved files and Microsoft Office, it is has no use to me!

The internet is so closely related to media convergence. I think that participatory culture relies on a connection to the internet for the concept to be able to flourish and meet its full potential. With access to the internet, consumers have the power to create, remix and participate in so much more than ever before. Consumers have become active and as Jenkins’ says, have become prosumers. And I guess this is where this week’s topic ties into last weeks of copyright and content control.  Jenkins says that consumers are using new technologies to bring the flow of media into their own control, and a freer flow of content is expected from these users. However some media companies want to control the flow of media related to them. But it is the companies who understand the new ‘migratory’ and socially connected consumer, with business models that take account of convergence and prosumers, who will ultimately succeed. Succeed in gaining users trust and loyalty.

And now that the problem of my faulty modem has been fixed, I can post this blog and continue being a prosumer!

12 thoughts on “Week Six Summary- Media Convergence

  1. This is such a good description of convergence.. I rely like how currently you are in the same description of me!!! I’m currently in cowra and my phone receives no service and the only contact I have with anyone is via. My boyfriends family wifi which is solo slow!!! I am not a huge fan of convergence at the moment

    • Slow wifi is theeee absolute worst! So frustrating. I think it is worse than no internet connection, because you have that little glimmer of hope.. thinking you might connect, but it’s just too slow

  2. I like your example of the internet modem. I think we’ve all been there. I think the main thing about convergence as well is that the small amount of time without an internet connection leaves you so out of the loop. Things change so quickly and have a short life span as current news that you have a lot to catch up on. But when that connection works again its amazing!!!

  3. Hey!
    I think the concept of being a prosumer is really interesting. This concept has come about all due to convergence of media. It’s interesting particularly in terms of news and journalist as mostly everyone on the scene can become a prosumer, but then what happens to traditional and old forms of media such as newspapers which compared to the internet are becoming obsolete. Prosumers, convergence and citizen journalism are all linked together and really interest me. Also, the reference to your modem being down is particularly true!

  4. I agree that companies must ‘understand the new ‘migratory’ and socially connected consumer’ as our characteristics as a consumer have changed so much. We are now so proactive and engaged – far from the passive consumers of the past. I definitely agree that companies need to embrace produsage as this will be beneficial for businesses and consumers and increase loyalty, as you mentioned.

    • Definitely. To keep ‘prosumers’ on their sides, brands need to understand how we now interact with technology and the world wide web, and everything related to the two. And with so many people online, giving their thoughts on websites, brands, people, products.. any betrayal of trust between user and business will spread rapidly.

  5. I like how you included your experiences with your modem being down, it happens way to often in my place. I have never realized how reliant I am on my phone until my laptop battery dies at uni and I’m forced to use my phone (not that it matters thanks to Telstra and their relatively efficient mobile internet). I do shudder at the thought that our laptops cost us so much money though, and what do we really need them for? Office products? well why don’t we just buy the much cheaper alternative, a portable keyboard for our iPad’s. Now wouldn’t that also be a lot lighter option? It’s crazy to think that we keep buying, and it keeps becoming obsolete…but that’s technology I suppose, and unfortunately, I can’t see an end to this pattern.

    • Lucky you, I am with Optus so I hardly get network coverage, let alone 3G coverage at uni.
      So true about reliance on our mobile technologies though. I could have easily posted my blog from the iPad or even iPhone if the problem of the faulty modem didn’t fix.

      I can’t see an end to it either. When the iPhone 5 is released shortly, I’m sure that a couple of months later rumours of the next one will start to spread.

  6. The example of our Internet being down is great to illustrate the reliance on the over-powering invention, and also a great example of convergence. Because, if my laptop’s Internet is down, if I feel inspired, I could use my phone to make a blog post, and that is the point of convergence! We can access the Internet from other devices, and with 3G, almost anywhere possible.

  7. I agree with jmgry in reference to your example, ‘our Internet being down is great to illustrate the
    reliance on the over-powering invention, and also a great example of convergence’.
    Unlike the comment above, this doesn’t make me feel inspired, I simply move onto my next piece of equipment- iPhone, iPad or iMac.

Leave a Reply

